Leadership & Success

Spring 2016 Highlights


Congratulations to Darian James and J. Miguel Hernandez-Ochoa! Two WiscAMP students were awarded the prestigious National Science Foundation Graduate Research Fellowships this spring. Darian James (Biomedical Engineering) is a first-year WiscAMP Bridge to the Doctorate student. The second student, J. Miguel Hernandez-Ochoa was in the first cohort of the Madison College WiscAMP Scholars transfer preparation program. He graduated from UW-Madison in May and will begin his doctoral studies in horticulture at the University of California-Davis this fall.


WiscAMP students from across the state attended the first WiscAMP Student Leadership Symposium on February 20, 2016. The morning leadership development workshop was led by Dr. Jerry Whitmore of the Wisconsin Institute for Science Education and Community Engagement (WISCIENCE). The luncheon featured a graduate student panel with four WiscAMP Bridge to the Doctorate students. Beatriz Camacho (Chemistry), Katrina Carter (Physiology), Darian James (Biomedical Engineering) and Godwin Ashley Dilibe Offiah Civil & Environmental Engineering) presented their research and discussed their paths to success in STEM.

The luncheon was followed by a poster session. You can see a highlight video of the event here.